The Boss is Gone

It’s the third time I’ve been at one of my favorite watering holes and the owner is not around.  Funny how service can drop when the boss is out of the office.  What’s up with that? It wasn’t always this way. This time a year ago, the owner would be out and service would still be great…sometimes even better.

What happened?  Two observations.

  • New staff: The people who worked here last year have moved on. One’s working at a restaurant in a higher end part of town.  One’s in jail. One’s a scientist in Oak Ridge (or at least that’s what I’m told).
  • No passion: The people who work there, don’t want to be there.  All except two people fall under this category.  Don’t get me wrong, everyone is a friendly person who works there, they just don’t enjoy what they’re doing.

Sharing this story with a friend of mine caused him to make the following comment:

This always happens at any job.  Right?”

Wrong!

Time to brag about my co-workers.  A few weeks ago, one of the managers took a week long vacation.  While she was gone, her team did an excellent job.  It was one of their most successful weeks all year.  In fact, they outperformed our other locations!

Her staff could have used her vacation as an excuse to not perform, but that’s not how they roll.  Instead, they have passion for what they do.  They took ownership of their duties and felt responsible for the success of their location.

I’m very happy to say that out of these two examples, I work with the successful group.  Now if the bartender would just bring me my drink.

About Jeremy M. Price
For twelve years, I had the pleasure of working in community banking. Starting in customer service, I worked my way up to a senior level marketing and human resources director. It was great leading teams that improved strategic initiatives including, but not limited to brand awareness, digital communication, employee development and product development. This experience has now led to an exciting role with CRS Data. As the Product Marketing Analyst, I am currently reviewing the company's banker suite product. This product is able to help community banks reach their fullest potential in real estate lending. I am extremely fortunate to share time with my son while enjoying life in East Tennessee. The two of us enjoy the views of the Smokey Mountains, eating good food and having fun. During my free time, I enjoy running races, traveling and listening to great live music.

2 Responses to The Boss is Gone

  1. It always speaks volumres about an organization when people do more than expected, especially when the boss isn’t watching.

Leave a Reply

