The Beer That Made Milwaukee Famous

Maybe it’s all the Mad Men I’ve been watching. Whatever the case, April’s Beer of the month is Schlitz.

When I first moved to Knoxville, there was only one place in town I could find Schlitz. It was at a Kroger across town in East Knoxville. Fortunately in the past few years, more places have started carrying The Beer that Made Milwaukee Famous, including a Food City right down the road from my house and a new restaurant conveniently located by my office.

That’s right, Knoxville is Going for the Gusto and bringing back a great classic.

Not to be confused with its Malt Liquor siblings, Schlitz Beer has been around since the mid 1800’s and was one time the top-selling beer in the U.S.

I drank my first Schlitz while living in Chattanooga.  My good friend Jeremy Henderson first discovered that one of the local grocery stores carried the historic brew.  During this time, the reason to get Schlitz was for the nostalgic feeling.  The taste was inconsistent.  In fact, that was one of the reasons my friend Henderson enjoyed the beer.  He felt like he was playing beer roulette every time we bought a 12 pack.  We always enjoyed the taste, but it was hard to convince others to join in on the Schlitz fun.

Then came 2008.

Schlitz recommitted itself to taste by going back to the classic 1960’s formula.  This commitment to change was more than just a marketing campaign, Schlitz met with old brewmasters and were able to recreate the formula.  With just a kiss of the hops, Schlitz now has a great taste that goes down smooth.

So if you haven’t ever had a Schlitz, or haven’t had one in a long time, go for the gusto and find out why Schlitz is the beer that made Milwaukee famous!

About Jeremy M. Price
For twelve years, I had the pleasure of working in community banking. Starting in customer service, I worked my way up to a senior level marketing and human resources director. It was great leading teams that improved strategic initiatives including, but not limited to brand awareness, digital communication, employee development and product development. This experience has now led to an exciting role with CRS Data. As the Product Marketing Analyst, I am currently reviewing the company's banker suite product. This product is able to help community banks reach their fullest potential in real estate lending. I am extremely fortunate to share time with my son while enjoying life in East Tennessee. The two of us enjoy the views of the Smokey Mountains, eating good food and having fun. During my free time, I enjoy running races, traveling and listening to great live music.

Leave a Reply

